Centipedes are champions

The Kihei Centipedes captured their first title in franchise history after defeating the West Maui Brewers in the decisive third game of the Spring 2018 MABL Championship Series.

The ‘Pedes jumped out to a 1-0 series lead behind a masterful pitching performance by ace Randy Button, winning 5-2 after Button allowed only two Brewers hits through the first 8 innings. Button and catcher Shaun Doyle lead the offense, driving in all 5 Centipedes runs between the two of them.

The Brewers countered by taking game 2 of the series, 10-3, scoring 9 runs in the final 3 innings. Enmanuel Yajure Pena got the win, entering in relief of Rafael Fuentes, and Ken Henry and Matt DeSantis picked up 3 hits a piece for the Brewers.

Randy Button delivered another outstanding performance on the mound in game 3, holding the Brewers to 1 run over 7 innings for his fourth win of the postseason. Jordan Hansen and Mat Peterson each drove in a pair of runs, and the ‘Pedes cruised to a 6-1 victory.

This marked the 6th time in MABL history that a Championship series went all three games, and the 4th time in the past 5 seasons. Photos from the series can be found through the media page, and a list of previous league champions can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *