Brewers win first title

One season after falling in the Championship Series to the Kihei Centipedes, the West Maui Brewers captured their first title by sweeping the La Perouse Pirates in two hard fought, back and forth contests.

Down by a run in the bottom of the 13th, the Brewers pulled off the 6-5 game 1 victory with a two out, two run walk off single by Timothy Lyons. The Brewers’ Enmanuel Yajure Peña got the win, going all 13 innings, and setting a new MABL single game record with 22 Ks.

In game 2, the Pirates jumped out to a 9-5 lead before the Brewers drew even in the 7th, eventually taking the lead in the top of the 9th. Kirk Bender and Mike Abercrombie had 3 hits a piece, and five different Brewers pitchers contributed to the 10-9 victory.

The Brewers are the 6th different team to win the MABL Championship in the past 6 seasons. Photos from the series will be available on the media page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *