Spring 2021 ASG & Food Drive

The Spring 2021 All-Star Game will be held at 10am, June 27 at Ichiro “Iron” Maehara Stadium. The Mauka team will be made of players representing the La Perouse Pirates, Upcountry Dirtbags, Central Rays, and Lahaina Warriors. All-Stars from the Makena Royals, West Maui Brewers, Kihei Centipedes, and Pacific Hurricanes will make up the Makai team.

Prior to the game, players will host an All-Star Food Drive for the Maui Food Bank (mauifoodbank.org, @MauiFoodBank) outside the stadium gates. The Maui Food Bank and MABL seeks to supply food to anyone at risk of going hungry, including people living in the isolated communities of Hāna, Lāna’i, and Moloka’i. Supplies have dwindled through the pandemic, and so the Food Bank is looking for all of the donations it can get. Let’s give our community the same enthusiasm, love, and support we show for each other every week and indeed make this an All-Star Food Drive. The stadium capacity is limited to 200 persons on Sunday, and so we will setup a donation table in the parking lot just outside the entrance gate. Please consider dropping by to make a donation even if you do not plan to attend the game. Suggested donations include canned meat and tuna, canned fruits and vegetables, canned meals and soups with proteins, and cereal, rice and pasta.

Following the game, the HR Derby will feature 12 of the league’s top hitters as they compete for the title of MABL’s top home run hitter. New this season, the winner of the derby with be presented with the MABL HR Derby Champion Belt (shown above), which with be passed on or retained in subsequent seasons. Come out and cheer on your favorite players on Sunday as the 25th season of MABL action comes to a close. Rosters are listed below.

Player Team Pos
Jonah Abreu CR 1B, OF
Jerry Ayala LP P
Mike Gilligan LW P
Dustin Kokubun CR OF
Layne Krause UD C, OF
Howdy MacPherson UD 3B
Jeremy Loque CR 1B
Keoni Luft UD P, UTIL
Karl Mascak UD C, OF
Joseph McFarlin LP P
Matt Newsome LW 3B
Edison Sakata CR SS
John Schnettgoecke LP C, P
Roy Smith LW UTIL
Elias Steadman LP 3B
Wes Troyan LW OF
Player Team Pos
Mike Abercrombie WB OF
Tim Connell MR 3B
Dreyson Cordova PH P, SS
Brooks Faria PH C
Ken Henry WB 2B, 1B
Rai Johnson PH UTIL
Anoai Keahi PH OF
Michael Kiesler KC OF
Tim Lyons MR UTIL
Andy Michaels WB P
Kevin Spaise KC 3B
Ryan Swindle KC P, UTIL
Meade Tabata MR UTIL
Jacob Tiu MR P
Jeff Tucker WB OF, 3B
Anthony Valeriano KC OF


Player Team
Mike Abercrombie WB
Kanale Kahalekai KC
Anoai Keahi PH
Jeremy Loque CR
Isaiah Maddela MR
Steve Mearriam LW
Elia Naipo WB
Tim Page UD
Elias Steadman LP
Ryan Swindle KC
Jeff Tucker WB
Anthony Valeriano KC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *