Brewers repeat as champs

In a rematch of the Summer 2018 Championship series, the West Maui Brewers defeated the La Perouse Pirates two games to none becoming the first team since the Upcountry Dirtbags in 2014 to win back-to-back MABL titles.

The Brewers pushed across two runs on defensive miscues in Game 1, winning by a score of 2-0. Brewers’ ace Enmanuel Yajure Peña threw a gem, scattering only two hits and one walk over a complete game shutout, striking out 11 in the process. Timothy Lyons picked up 3 of the Brewers’ 5 hits, and Mike Abercrombie scored both runs.

Game 2 was another battle for the ages. Still scoreless in the bottom of the 10th, the Pirates threatened with runners on first and third until Yajure, playing third base, made a leaping grab of Austin Beesley‘s scorched line drive that seemed destined to bring home the winning run. The Brewers’ managed to score two in the top of the 11th on a base hit by Abercrombie through a drawn-in infield. Though the Pirates threatened again with two baserunners in the bottom of the inning, Yajure managed to record the save and send the Brewers to another 2-0 victory and their second Championship in as many seasons.

Congratulations to both teams for great seasons and another thrilling Championship series!

One comment

  1. Two great games by two great teams – what a battle! The series was another reminder of how far this league has come from the days when two teams — the Wild Things and the Dirtbags — played against each other every Sunday until the two of three “playoffs.” Great job all around, Pirates and Brewers. Nobody deserved to lose this one….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *