Rays win Fifth Championship with two victories!

Posted on May 29th, 2012 by Brian Teeter

Rays win their Fifth Championship with improbable two game sweep after dropping the opening game of the 3 game series.

Game 1 – Rays 4 – Warriors 3 – Regular season Batting Champion Barry Takahashi continued his torrid hitting knocking in the games winning run with a RBI double and finished the day going 2 for 3 with a double, walk, RBI and run scored.  Rookie Travis Castillon pitched 9 innings to earn the victory.  Castillon didn’t allow a base runner after the 6th inning and racked up 6 strike outs.  Warriors catcher John Reis was 2 for 4 with an RBI and Kia Neizman had 2 hits and scored the Warriors first two runs.  Kawehi Akiona pitched 7 strong innings for the short handed Warriors.

Boxscore – Rays 4 – Warriors 3

Game 2 – Rays 8 – Warriors 6 – Manager Tom Kowalick knocked in the tying and go ahead runs with his bases loaded double to the wall off of Ikaika Neizman.  Kowalick was also beaned hard in the shoulder in his next at bat.  John Ito was 2 for 2 with 3 RBIs and a stolen base and Jeremy Loque and Travis Garen each crossed the plate 3 times.  Loque finished the double header reaching base in 5 of 6 plate appearances with 2 hits and 3 walks.  Former MVP Lance Migita was 2 for 3.  Barry Takahashi pitched the complete game for the victory and bounced back after the Warriors scored 4 in the second to shut them out until the Rays reached a 4 run lead.  Warrior Ikaika Neizman pitched the complete game in the loss and also had a double and triple in the game.  Brother Kia Neizman hit in 2 runs with a two out double in the second inning.  Rookie Anthony Benigno picked up an RBI in the final inning and put together an impressive 5 consecutive games with at least 1 RBI in the playoffs.

Boxscore – Rays 8 – Warriors 6

Congratulations to the Central Rays for winning their 5th straight Championship.

The Summer season starts July 8th.  Don’t miss the exciting action this summer!

Rays win Fifth Championship in a Row!!!

Posted in Spring 2012 | Leave a comment

MABL Championship Final Games Sunday @ Iron Maehara!

Posted on May 25th, 2012 by Brian Teeter

This weekend we will have the final games in the Spring 2012 Championship Series! The Central Parks folks were able to accommodate our request and we will be holding the final games in Iron Maehara Stadium!

The Lahaina Warriors lead the series 1 – 0 over the 4 time defending champion Central Rays. Will the Rays come back and win 2 straight games to capture their 5th straight championship? Or will the Lahaina Warriors stop the Rays and claim their first ever MABL championship?  Come out to the Stadium and find out!

The first game starts at 9am, with the second game to follow shortly after if necessary.

See you all there!

Posted in Spring 2012 | Leave a comment

Spring 2012 All Stars Selections

Posted on May 22nd, 2012 by Brian Teeter

This season we decided to shake up the All Star selection process.  Each team nominated 3 of their own to represent their team through a team vote.  The league Board of Directors then voted to add additional All Stars that were “the 4th guy that should have been picked” or who otherwise had outstanding seasons and deserved an All Star nomination. Due to ties in the Board of Directors votes, we ended up with 8 additional all star selections.

Here are your Spring 2012 Maui Adult Baseball League All Stars!


All Stars Red Team   All Stars Blue Team
Manager: Tom Kowalick (CR)   Manager: Mikey Marcotte (LPP)
Tom Kowalick (CR)   Emmett Markulis (LW)
Barry Takahashi (CR)   Ikaika Niezman (LW)
Travis Garen (CR)   John Reis (LW)
Jonah Abreu (CR)   Mikey Marcotte (LPP)
Aaron Loque (CR)   Daniel Morris (LPP)
Dave Harry (CR)   Jay Rigsby (LPP)
Tim Page (UD)   Miguel Landon (LPP)
Pat Merrill (UD)   Dave Perzinski (LPP)
Josh Meier (UD)   Fausto Allosada Jr. (MM)
Rich Doster (UD)   Dugan Koahu (MM)
Rob Morse (UD)   Noah Yamada (MM)
John “JD” Davis (WB)   Chauncey Brown (MM)
Andy Michaels (WB)   Oscar Duran (KC)
Rai Johnson (WB)   Daimar Tamarack (KC)
Rede Eder (WB)   Steve Mearriams (KC)
Jose Velasco (NN)   Brian Teeter (KC)
Dusty Newkirk (NN)  
Eastward Tagan (NN)  


The All Star game will be held in Kihei Sunday June 3rd at 10am!

Posted in MABL All Stars, Spring 2012 | Leave a comment

Warriors take first game of Championship 6-3

Posted on May 21st, 2012 by Brian Teeter

The Lahaina Warriors took a 1-0 lead in the best of 3 game Championship Series on Sunday with a exciting 6-3 victory.  Next Sunday, May 27th, come out and watch the exciting finish.  Will the Warriors end a streak of 4 straight Championships for the Rays?  Will the Rays become the first team in MABL history to win a 3 game series after losing the first game?  You will have to come watch at the Stadium to find out.  First game starts at 9 am!  (Please note the games have been moved from Makawao to the Stadium!)  See you there!


Check out the box score Here

Posted in Spring 2012 | 1 Comment

Central Rays and Lahaina Warriors in the Championship!

Posted on May 14th, 2012 by Brian Teeter

This Saturday, the Central Rays faced off with the Upcountry Dirtbags in game 2 of their playoff series. The Rays were up 1-0 in the series coming into this weekend. Game 2 was held in Makawao on Saturday and the Rays won 9-0 in a dominating performance earning their way into the Championship series.

Sunday, the Lahaina Warriors battled the La Perouse Pirates. The Warriors came into the weekend leading the series 1 game to 0. The Pirates won the first game of the double header series forcing a pivotal game 3. This was a first for Maui Adult Baseball – we’ve never seen a playoff series go to three games.

In the third and pivotal game, the Warriors pulled out a very close win in with the final at 4-3, earning their way into the Championship series.

The Championship series between the Rays and Warriors will start this weekend, Sunday at 9am in Lahaina. Come out and enjoy the playoff action!

Posted in Spring 2012 | Leave a comment

Playoff Schedule Adjustment

Posted on May 11th, 2012 by Brian Teeter

Due to the Mother’s day holiday this weekend we’re adjusting the playoff game schedules.  The new schedule is:

Games 2 and 3: Rays vs Dirtbags
Saturday 9am in Makawao

Games 2 and 3: Pirates vs Warriors:
Sunday at 9:30am in Makawao

Come out and support your favorite team in this weekend’s playoff elimination games!

Posted in Spring 2012 | Leave a comment

Upcountry Dirtbags Grab 4th Playoff Spot with Come from Behind Victory

Posted on May 3rd, 2012 by Brian Teeter

Don’t miss the exciting Playoff Action at the Stadium this Sunday with the Central Rays who put their four straight championship streak on the line against the Upcountry Dirtbags at 12:15 and the La Perouse Pirates face off against the Lahaina Warriors at 9:00 am for the second consecutive 1st round playoff matchup.

2012 Spring Season Playoffs
Best of 3 Series
Rays vs. Dirtbags
Pirates vs. Warriors
Game 1 – 5/6
Stadium at 12:15 pm
Stadium at 9:00 am
Game 2 – 5/13
Lahaina at 9:00 am
Makawao at 9:00 am
Game 3 – 5/13*
*Lahaina at 12:15 pm
*Makawao at 12:15 pm

* Game 3 if needed

Posted in Spring 2012 | Leave a comment