Summer 2013 Individual Season Awards

Posted on December 19th, 2013 by Paul Skarbo

Regular Season Awards for the Summer 2013 Season as voted on by the players:

Most Valuable Player – Kory Takamura, Central Rays

Cy Young Award – Allen Castro, La Perouse Pirates

Rookie of the Year – Tommy Hauptman, Upcountry Dirtbags

Manager of the Year – Joe Koch, Kihei Centipedes

Batting Champion – David McClean (0.545 Ave), West Maui Brewers

Gold Glove – Cheney Higa, Kihei Centipedes

Most Improved – Eric Hay, La Perouse Pirates

Kenneth Talbot Award – Leah Mark, Hawaiian Navigators


Posted in Award Winners, Summer 2013 | Leave a comment

Summer 2012 Season Award Winners

Posted on November 21st, 2012 by Brian Teeter

At the end of each season, we ask honor players, managers and rookies with awards for outstanding seasons.  This season, the players and managers of the league chose to honor these players for their achievements this season:


Tim Page (Dirtbags)


Cy Young Award

Jeremy Logue (Rays)

Travis Castillion (Rays)


Batting Champion

Anthony Beningo (Warriors, .542 Batting Average)


Manager of the Year

Rich Doster (Dirtbags)


Most Improved

Rai Johnson (Brewers)

Kenneth Talbot III Award

Rich Doster (Dirtbags)


Gold Glove

Josh Meier (Dirtbags)


Rookie of the Year

Cory Wray


Congratulations to all of this season’s award winners!

Posted in Award Winners, Summer/Fall 2012 | Leave a comment

Summer 2011 Regular Season Award Winners

Posted on November 3rd, 2011 by Brian Teeter

Last week at the Summer 2011 All Star game we announced the season’s award winners.  Regular Season Awards are voted on by a select group of league vetrans and they honor the achievements of players in the league.  This season’s award winners were:

Cy Young Award

In a hotly contested contest this season’s Cy Young Award winner was:

Barry Takahashi (CR)

This was Barry’s second Cy Young Award in a row!  He narrowly beat out other top pitchers Justin Newsome, Joel Vandeberg and his teammate Fausto Alosada.

Rookie of the Year:

This season we had two very strong candidates for the Rookie of the Year award.  The winner was:

Tim Page (UD)

Paul beat out other top contenders for the Rookie of the Year award Fausto Alosada and Paul DiPierro.

Gold Glove Award

This year’s Gold Glove award voting was strongly in favor of the winner:

Shantel Medeiros (LW)

Shantel had a great season and was able to beat out other top gloves in the vote including Mikey Marinello and Patrick Merrell.

Manager of the Year Award

This year’s Manager of the Year constructed a brand new team and brought them into the league with an 8-2 debut record.  The winner was:

Mikey Marcotte (LPP)

Mikey did a great job building and managing an all new expansion team.  Plus he’s an all around good guy so it was an easy choice for many voters!  Also high in the voting was Shakes Pedroza who has consistently managed the Lahaina Warriors to winning and dominating seasons.

Most Improved Award

This year’s Most Improved player was one of the top batters in the league and played a key role in the Maui Marlins debut season:

Chad Walla (MM)

Chad was able to come out ahead in the voting over other players like Joel Vandeberg who also had break out seasons.

Kenneth J Talbot III Award

This season we added the new Keneth Talbot III Award to honor his memory by honoring the player that best exemplifies the game of baseball through sportsmanship, community involvement, and positive contributions toward others as he did, on and or off the field.   This season’s award winner was:

Paul Skarbo (KC)

Paul has been instrumental in the forming and management of the MABL since its inception.  He continues to work to promote the best interests of the league and to provide great leadership for the league.  Paul’s soon to be opened Hitter’s Paradise will be a great boon to the Maui community and will help to promote baseball development at the youth, competitive and recreational levels.

Most Valuable Player Award

This season’s MVP award winner legitimately could have won 3 awards this season.  He was in the running for the Cy Young Award, the Rookie of the Year and, of course, the MVP Award.  This season’s MVP is:

Fausto Alosada (CR)

Fausto has established himself as a fearsome hitter and lights out pitcher in just one season in the league.  His play this season was instrumental in boosting the Central Rays to their fourth consecutive league title.

Congratulations to all the Summer 2011 award winners!

Posted in Award Winners, Summer 2011 | 1 Comment